Safety First, and Second, and Third…Just be safe

I did not know if I should post this photo. On one hand, it as a good reminder of the importance of safety, on the other hand, it is a little gruesome, pun intended. But here it is.

Guys, if you are coming to your anchor position, and you see the arrow coming out of the arrow rest, please put the bow down, an don´t try to correct while you are pulling. This is even more important if you are shooting with a compound bow. Be very sure that your index or your thumb are away from the trigger on your trigger release until AFTER you reach the wall to avoid negligent discharges.

If you are shooting carbon fiber arrows, remember to flex them to check for carbon fiber separation. Check them every time you have arrow contact in the target. Check them when you pick them…just check them, ok? You don´t want that arrow to break when you are on  your anchor.

I spoke with some compound shooters when I first saw this photo. They mentioned that there are Kevlar globes you can use on your bow hand. I don´t know if they work. I´ve been on the archery forums and there seems to be different opinions regarding their effectiveness. I don´t get paid by them, I got no request from them, and I don´t own one, but when I get my first compound bow, I´ll get one…

Oh! By the way, if you injure yourself at the range, please, please, please promise me that before you take a photo of your own injury, you will call 911 first. Or even better, just don´t take the pic.

Peace.

About losangelesarchery

Alejandro is an Archery Instructor in LA. Coaches & Shoots at Rancho Park Archery Range.
This entry was posted in Archery, Archery Equipment, Archery shops, Arrow, Bow, Compound Bow, Rancho Park Archery Range, Safety and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Safety First, and Second, and Third…Just be safe

  1. ERIC PITIOT says:

    Bonjour,
    Je suis français et j ais tirré à l arc au rancho parc de 1989 à 1991. A cette période je tirrais avec Victor Miller.Je serrais tres heureux d’avoir de ces nouvelles. c ette passion ne ma jamais quittée et je tire toujour en france. Enfin si cela vous interresse nous pourrions echanger entre nos club respectif.
    Merci d’avance
    ERIC PITIOT

  2. pitiot eric says:

    Hello

    I am French and i shoot archery at the rancho Park from 1989 to 1991. During this time I was shooting with Victor Miller. I would be very happy to have this news. This passion has never left me and I always shoot in France. Finally if you are interested we could exchange between our respective clubs.

    Thanks in advance

    ERIC PITIOT
    pitiot.soriev@yahoo.fr

Leave a Reply

