First bow

I have a lot of new archers asking me about buying a new bow. They have taken a couple of classes, and they are looking forward to have their own equipment and practice more at the range.

My recommendation is always the same. Wait a little bit.
I know it is hard, and I know that most of you want to shoot right now, but there are a lot of factors that need to be considered. The lower weight for most recurved take down bows is 20lb. Most one piece recurve bows and longbows begin at 30lb and light compound bows are around 40 to 50lb, although due to their design, you only pull around one third of the weight. The bows we use at the range for teaching are between 12 and 18lb. The kid bows that we use are around 10lb. Going from one of these bows to a 20lb to 30lb bow is quite a jump.

The muscles used in archery the way we teach it, are not used on everyday life. before you buy your own bow, you need to strengthen your upper back muscles. What I recommend my students is to practice with the light bows from the range first, at least twice a week, ideally three times a week, for at least three months, before going to a heavier bow, increasing the poundage of the bow four or five pounds at a time. We have a the range bows from 10 to 30lb to practice. That way you´ll be prepared to shoot that heavier new bow.

I know we all like instant gratification, but sometimes it is worth to wait a little bit.

Be safe, and have fun!
I used to tell the new archers to wait for six months to buy their own bow, but I understand that is too much.

About losangelesarchery

Alejandro is an Archery Instructor in LA. Coaches & Shoots at Rancho Park Archery Range.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First bow

  1. Jason Chase says:

    Thanks for your expert advice. Now how can I speed this process up a bit should I loose a few thousand arrows a day? Push ups? Pull Downs? what can I do to speed up and ramp up for 30lbs longbow

Leave a Reply

