Hi There!

Welcome to Los Angeles Archery!

Hi, I am Alejandro Barahona, Level 2 Instructor at Rancho Park Achery Range in LA. — the best place to practice Archery in LA.

We are located at Cheviot Hills Recreation Center, 2459 Motor Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90064.  Rancho Park Archery Range in Cheviot Hills is at W. Pico and Motor, just south of Century City and the Fox Studios.

Enter the park at Motor, through the entrance closest to Pico, and drive to the back of the park until you reach the rotunda with the sign for the West Region Headquarters of the Department of Recreation & Parks.

You will find parking space there; the archery range is right behind the Petanque (Bocce) fields.

There are free archery classes every Saturday at 11AM and the second Sunday of every month at 1:30PM. We also provide all the equipment for free. We can take only 24 students and we run the class on a first come-first served basis, so try to be there at least 30 min earlier.

Bring sunscreen, comfy shoes, water, and a willingness to learn something and have fun.

Once you take the class, you can come back to the range and shoot during our Open Shooting Times Saturdays from 9:30AM to 12PM, Sundays from 12PM to 3:30PM. And once you have more experience, Wednesdays from 6:30PM to 8PM, and yes, there is no rental fee.

If you want private lessons, I can organize classes for groups or individuals. You can reach me at losangelesarchery@gmail.com.

About losangelesarchery

Alejandro is an Archery Instructor in LA. Coaches & Shoots at Rancho Park Archery Range.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Hi There!

  1. Cheryl Finley says:

    My 13 year old grandson wants to take archery lessons and I would like to know when your classes are held, how much they cost and what the procedure is for getting enrolled. I would also like to know if you teach adults. I look forward to your reply. Thanks.

  2. Chris says:

    Hey there! Excited to see a range in LA. Had no idea but was doing some archery research and found the range. I’ve been to the Outpost in Los Alamitos & Hi Tech in Fullerton but this is much closer to home. Am I welcome to come to the open shooting this Saturday? I have all my own equipment. And do i need to bring my own paper targets?

    Thanks!

  3. Florian Boyce says:

    Are these classes still being held?

    And if everything is free, what’s the catch?

    • Yes, we have the free classes Saturdays at 11AM and the second Sunday of the month at 1:30PM. There is no catch. The Easton Foundation donated money to the city for the 84 Olympic Games with the condition that if any money was left after the games, the city would build a range and it would offer free beginner classes.
      Alejandro

  4. Mr Sandy Bennett says:

    Greetings
    I live on Bell Island Newfoundland Canada A0A4H0.
    A little too far to attend your archery lessons .
    I wonder if you have any C D teaching for archery ?
    Thanks
    Sandy

  5. Leanh says:

    Hi, I am planning on coming to take a lesson on one of the Saturdays or second Sunday of the month. How long is the lesson and if you take small groups. I am planning to get some friends together to go. How many people do you allow in a group? Thanks.

    Leanh

  6. richard barron says:

    There is another place you can learn archery in the metro LA area , Pasadena Roving Archers, in the Lower Arroyo Park (south of the rose bowl and the famous bridge). Every Saturday morning they have a free archery class. The archery range is in a oak and sycamore woodland setting. The range has been there for 75 years , like many things in Pasadena its “historic” and beautiful. The free class registration is at 8 AM , dont be late , they often run out of equipment to loan students.

  7. SebastianC says:

    hey there . i was wondering if you know of any decent archery stores near or around the san fernando valley

  8. scott says:

    Hi,
    Can you recommend two or three good archery stores in San Gabriel valley where they can help me choose the right bow for me, including deciding which length and weight of bow I should choose?

  9. Diane says:

    Do we get to have the archery equiment{bow,arrow etc.}?

  10. Mike says:

    I haven’t shot in 20 years but I think I’d like to try it out again. I’ll definitely be checking it out come January.

  11. Mimi says:

    HI- I am wondering if there are any classes for beginners today – Jan 8, 2012. Thank you – Mimi

  12. Pingback: People who need peope, part two | Los Angeles Archery

  13. Hello my name is Sarah I live in Torrance I was wondering about 2 things do you guys have a archery course around here ? oh and then do you people just train with regular bows or do you do both cross bows and regular bows ?

  14. Wade crawford says:

    What is the minimum age?

  15. Aleea says:

    Are the classes still being held?

  16. tatiana says:

    with the private archery sessions that you guys offer, if they aren’t free, how much do they cost for beginning youth archers?

  17. Adelaide C. Siena says:

    I took archery classes when I attended city college. I really enjoyed it. Unfortunately they no longer offer it as they used the former archery range to give way to new buildings. Are classes still available? Thanks in advance for the information.

  18. Richard Backman says:

    Howdy….any suggestions where I may find Olympic style Bows, arrows, and related equipment.
    Thanks,
    Rich

  19. Nick says:

    This sounds like fun how old must u be to get a lesson what’s the youngest ?

  20. Sarah says:

    Hi, I am looking for someone to come out for my daughter’s 7th birthday and teach the kids archery. My daughter was most taken by Brave and so I made her a simple bow and arrow. Then my eldest son bought her a better bow from Europe. When I asked her what theme she would like for her birthday, she said bows and arrows!!! Please help, do you know anyone in or near Pasadena who could come out to my place for her birthday???

  21. iverson says:

    Hello is there any archery stores in comptom

  22. andre jauregui says:

    is their archery classes in ranch cacamonca

  23. Alisa says:

    Hello, I am interested in going to a free weekend class. Do I need to call in to reserve. spot or do I just arrive 30 min early? Thank you!

  24. Hi, are you aware of any places near Los Angeles where one can rent equipment? Thanks!

  25. Ivan says:

    Hi, would like to know the length of your Sat class at 11 a.m. Possible open shooting time after the class? Also, do you consider mid Nov a busy or slow season for your range? Since you only take 24 per class, we are a group of 10 people, what time will you advise us to arrive?

  26. Zeel Yadallee says:

    Hi, I’ve been shooting for the past two years, and get decent accuracy from my compound at 30m (I’d like to go further, I’m just limited to that kind of distance by the available space at home). I heard some archery clubs proposed training positions that allowed the archer to teach at the same time, while he is undergoing his own certification. Could this be the case at Rancho Park ?
    Many thanks in advance.

  27. Marco says:

    Not many Angelinos are toxophiliacs, are they? What to do to remedy this? Hmmmmmm!

  28. Sondra Raab says:

    Any archery ranges or clubs in Lake Forest, Orange County. Teaching classes

Leave a Reply

